Poetry in Place Project for 2015 seeks poems

For its third and final year, the Poems in Place project seeks one poem to place at Fort Abercrombie State Historical Park in Kodiak and one poem for Caines Head State Recreational Area in Seward.

Poems from past years’ contests are installed in Totem Bight State Historical Park in Ketchikan, Chena River State Recreational Area near Fairbanks, Independence Mine State Historical Park near Palmer, Lake Aleknagik/Wood-Tikchik State Park near Dillingham, and at Beluga Point in Chugach State Park.

For more information about this year’s contest and the Poetry in Place project click here.

Governor's Award for the Arts

The Alaska Humanities Forum has announced the 2015 Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities. The annual awards are presented by the Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Humanities Forum in coordination with the Office of the Governor. The event takes place Thursday, January 29, 2015 at the Juneau Arts and Culture Center. Performances by Alaska artists will be featured.

A Fairbanks couple earned double honors as University of Alaska Fairbanks Professor Emeritus and former creative writing teacher, Frank Soos was named the new Alaska State Writer Laureate. Sculptor Margo Klass, Soos' wife was the recipient of the 2015 Governor's Award for the Arts.

For more information click here.

NEA Grant Awards Announced

Recipients of  the National Endowment for the Arts grants in the Art Works, Challenge America, and Creative Writing Fellowships: Poetry categories for fall 2014 were recently announced

 Alaska winners of the grants were:
49 Writers, Inc., Anchorage
Alaska Native Heritage Center, Anchorage
Anchorage Museum Association, Anchorage
Fairbanks Concert Association, Fairbanks
Bunnell Street Arts Center, Homer
Juneau Jazz & Classics, Inc., Juneau
Alaska Arts Sountheast, Inc., Sitka
Island Institute, Sitka
Sitka Summer Music Festival, Inc., Sitka
Special congratulations to Sean Hill, Fairbanks, who is the recipient of a $25,000 Creative Writing Fellowship in Poetry.
For more information about the grants click here.

Creative Writing Contest

Since 1981 writers of every age from every part of Alaska have participated in the annual Writing Contest sponsored by the Alaska Center for the Book along with the University of Alaska Anchorage and Alaska Dispatch.  For several past winners, this contest was the first public recognition of their work and helped launch successful writing careers.

We are pleased to announce this year’s contest is open for submission. Go to adn.com/creativewritingcontest for complete rules, list of prizes, and submission guidelines and send us your best fiction, nonfiction or poetry. Winners will be announced in mid-May.

Deadline is February 10, 2015.



Statewide Poetry Contest

The Fairbanks Arts Association announces the Twenty-first Annual Statewide Poetry Contest. The judge will be Joan Naviyuk Kane. She is the author of The Cormorant Hunter's Wife, and Hyperboreal. Kane is the 2014 recipient of the American Book Award, and is a Whiting Writers' Award recipient. She is on the faculty for the graduate creative writing program at the Institute of American Indian Arts.

The Fairbanks Arts Association's Literary Arts Committee will accept entries beginning January 1, 2015. The deadline for entries is Monday, March 2, 2015. For more information click here.

Letters About Literature 2015

Students in grades 4 through 12 are invited to enter Letters About Literature, a national writing contest sponsored by Alaska Center for the Book and the Center of the Book in the Library of Congress. Information about the 2015 Letters About Literature contest is available here: LAL Guidelines and also on the Library of Congress Center for the Book site.



The deadline for the 2015 contest was December 15, 2014 for grades 9-12 and the deadline for grades 4-8 was January 15, 2015.


Poems in Place Dedications and Celebrations

Dedications and celebrations were recently held at the installations of two new Poems in Place. Poems in Place were recently installed at the Lake Aleknagik State Recreation Site/Wood-Tikchik State Park near Dillingham and at Independence Mine State Historical Park at Hatcher Pass.




 For more information visit our Poems in Place web page.


Sue Sherif Literacy Award

This year, the Library of Congress Literacy Awards Program encouraged us to create a special award for literacy. We've chosen to name that award for someone special--a longtime Alaska Center for the Book board member, herself a former CLIA recipient, who is retiring from the state library system. She has dedicated her career to readers of all ages in all parts of the state. Her passion for libraries, books and readers are an inspiration to many people around Alaska. The first recipients of the Sue Sherif Literacy Award are members of a team that created interactive children's books in Cup'ik. Joseph Gorski is director of technology and federal programs for the Kashunamiut School District in Chevak. Dr. Bob Wicker is director of the Consortium for Digital Learning of the Association of Alaska School Boards. They helped form a team which translated an interactive book series into the Chevak region's language. Finding books that are relevant, accessible and affordable to Alaska Native language speakers has been a longtime goal of the Alaska Center for the Book, and we're delighted that this program is so successful.  




Sue Sherif

Sue Sherif

Alaska Literary Awards

This year, the Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Alaska Arts and Culture Foundation unveiled a new program, the Alaska Literary Awards, which are funded through a very generous donation from our former State Writer Laureate, Peggy Shumaker, and Joe Usibelli.

Five recipients of the inaugural Alaska Literary Awards were named:



Ernestine Hayes | mixed genre | Juneau
Erin Hollowell | poetry | Homer
Joan Kane | poetry | Anchorage, King Island, Mary's Igloo
Susanna Mishler | poetry | Anchorage, Hope
Frank Soos | fiction and essays | Fairbanks


PickClickThe Alaska Center for the Book is included in the Permanent Fund Dividend’s Pick.Click.Give. charitable contributions program.
It’s a secure and easy way to make a donation to an organization that stimulates public interest in literacy through the spoken and written word.

When you file for your PFD online, you will be given a
chance to donate money from your PFD. When you do, please remember The Alaska Center for the Book.
Just check the box that authorizes the State to send your name, contact information and the amount you give when it sends contributions to an organization so we can recognize your support.
For more information click here:  Pick. Click. Give.

Next Alaska Center for the Book Board Meeting

February 4, 5:30 pm. Diplomacy Building, UAA Campus., contact us for more information.

Visit us on Facebook